Barely 30 years old at the time, Werner Stücheli founded the firm in 1946 after winning the tender for the new veterinary hospital in Zurich. His architecture continues to shape Zurich’s urban landscape to this day. In 1955, he designed the Zur Bastei office building – the first high-rise building in Zurich city centre. Stücheli’s large portfolio of nearly 100 realised buildings and projects notably includes the Schmiede Wiedikon (1958) and the Geschäftshaus zur Schanze (1962). Nine Stücheli buildings have been honoured with the city of Zurich’s Good Building Award (Auszeichnung für gute Bauten der Stadt Zürich).
Twenty-five years after the office was founded, longstanding colleagues Ernst Stücheli and Theo Huggenberger become partners. During this period, the company grows to become the largest architecture firm in Zurich, developing a reputation as an experienced planner of large-scale projects. The Basler & Hofmann headquarters (1971), Haus zur Enge (1978) and Uetlihof administrative centre (1979) are all testament to the company’s successful development.
In 1996, the management of the company enters its third phase. While the last family member in the company, Ernst Stücheli, has stepped down, partners Christof Glaus, Matthias Roth and Heinz Wegmann decide to stay true to Werner Stücheli’s name and vision and continue developing in the sense of ‘imaginative realism’ (‘einfallsreicher Realismus’, NZZ, 2003).
In 2006, Andreas Mosimann joins the executive board as the fourth partner, followed by Eva Schaub in 2011. After Heinz Wegmann retires in 2014, Mathis Tinner takes up the role of fifth partner in 2014. In 2016, Daniel Zuppiger also joins the executive board. To celebrate the company’s 70th anniversary, the partners are fortifying their aim to create something new out of an existing development process – as epitomised by the current logo.